Canary Islands

Islands of contrasts

  • Currency:
  • Euro / Cent
Map of Kanaren Map.png
Canary Islands
Weather in Canary Islands
  • Local Time:
  • Language:
  • Spanish

Canary Islands

The Canary islands is a Spanish archipelago situated in the Atlantic Ocean off the northwest coast of mainland Africa. The larger islands are Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Lanzarote, La Palma and Grand Canaria. The islands have a diverse landscape and each has a unique character and vegetation. The landscapes range from mountainous, subtropical, desert, arid and forested. The climate varies from moist Atlantic, subtropical, to dry. The economy is largely based on tourism and tropical agriculture. Exports include bananas, tobacco, almonds, grapes and fruits. The main trading partners are European Union countries.

Please login to add a new comment
Be the first